PDF erstellen Seite weiterempfehlen

Master of Arts

"Master of Arts" is the degree granted for the completion of a graduate-level programme in the humanities or social sciences. Two years is the standard time period required to finish one's studies. All programmes are structured in a modular fashion; 120 credit points must be earned in total. Examinations are taken cumulatively in all required and optional courses, often in the form of a written exam or a take-home paper. The final module to be completed is the research and writing of a masters thesis.

At the FSU Jena, we currently offer 31 different Master of Arts programmes. Others are scheduled to open in one or two years. All programmes are designed to provide students with in-depth academic understanding of a particular subject area and are equivalent to the previously offered "Diplom" or "Magister" degrees. Therefore, students with a Master of Science are qualified to pursue postgraduate studies (i.e., to go on to earn a doctorate) or to seek high-level positions in either the business or the academic world.

Please see below for further information on the Master of Arts programmes, inter alia the admission requirements: